What’s in a Name

weaners 081015 EDITMany times over the years people have asked me how I decided on the name of our farm. I usually just give a short version of the truth or a flippant answer because I don’t know how to answer without sounding totally ‘woo-woo’. But it’s a fair questions so here’s the raw truth. *Feel free to tell me if I’ve crossed over into the world of ‘woo-woo’. During the course of my life I’ve searched for something. I’m not sure what to call it. Some people call it enlightenment, or purpose or wisdom. Personally, I call it the peace that comes with finding your true self. Whatever you call it, I’ve been looking for it. Over the years I’ve found bits and pieces of it, more in some places than others. It’s been a slow journey but a constant one.

 Places where I’ve been most successful at finding myself include, grueling work- when I am physically exhausted my mind is free from the noise of stress and worry and I find quiet. It’s during this quiet that I learn what inner peace and satisfaction feel like; when I’m doing what I love, like farming, there is a sense of gratification and contentment that fills me; and when I am around my animals and nature, I find myself learning from them, bringing me the wisdom that I’m searching for.

People farm for a variety of reasons, maybe it’s to become self-sufficient, provide themselves with food or to give their family a different lifestyle. I farm because it helps me grow as a person. It allows me to have the lifestyle I love and at the same time that it feeds me physically, it feeds my soul as well.

fa·ble

/ˈfābəl/

noun

noun: fable; plural noun: fables

  1. a short story, typically with animals as characters, conveying a moral.

synonyms: moral tale, tale, parable, allegory

 As a kid I loved fables. They were short stories with animals as characters that taught a value or moral. They were my favorite types of stories. So what does all this have to do with our farm name? The name of my farm describes my journey and our animals’ place in this search. We care for our animals to the best of our abilities and in return we get to learn from them. To be clear, we are a farm, not an animal sanctuary or refuge. But those hard decisions teach us too, along with the joys and fun there is heart wrenching loss and tons of exhausting work . When we moved to a farm I was able to start living my very own fable, one where the animals teach me about life and myself every day. It’s a pretty good life.

One thought on “What’s in a Name

  1. Pingback: What’s in a Name | Fable Farms | WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

